Black and “White” Sophisticated Velvet Cupcakes


Okay, so I saw this chocolate mold on BakeItPretty and I just HAD to buy it and use it on a cupcake somehow.

I thought of making black and white velvet cupcakes with cream cheese frosting and plopping on a chocolate mustache for fun and that’s how these were born.

So they are really pretty simple. As always, preheat your oven to 350. Then you make your standard red velvet cupcake batter, except you don’t add the red dye. I divided my batter into two and put black dye in one bowl and no dye in another.

The black dye looked really cool and I had to take a solo pic of it:

So, in hindsight, I think I should have added more dye and used paper liners on my cupcakes. I used about a teaspoon of black gel dye. I would say at least one more teaspoon. You’ll see why soon, but I had run out of paper liners and thought, no worries, I’ll just use some baking pam. Well, I think the black dye and the baking pam had an interesting chemical reaction in the oven. You’ll see soon.

Anyway, I “pammed” my cupcake pan and then put in one spoonful of black batter then regular batter.

So then bake for 20-25 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean. While you wait you can make your mustaches. I just got my standard chocolate melts and melted them and placed then in a piping bag. I piped them into my chocolate mold and placed them into the fridge to hurry up the hardening process.

Once the chocolate had set, I popped them out and came up with these:

Sooooo cute!!! You can also put lollipop sticks in them and make mustache lollipops! But, that’s for another day. 🙂

Once your cupcakes are good, take them out of the oven and let them cool for 5-10 minutes before you take them out of the pan. Then you have these:

oOkay, so as you can see, from the top, they look fine, but the bottoms that touched the pam turned greeeeen! It was quite comical. They didn’t have the black and white look that I wanted them to have because I forgot about the cocoa in the mixture making it browner than it would have been without it. Then to top it off the bottoms came out green! But, it’s alright, they still tasted yummy and this way they looked a bit sillier.

Now, on to the frosting! Cream Cheese frosting is one of my favorites. Take two sticks of unsalted room temperature butter and mix with 12 oz of room temperature cream cheese. Add 3/4 tsp vanilla. Most traditional recipes say add 1 lb of confectioner’s sugar [that’s 4 cups!!!!], but you know me, I like my frostings to be a little on the unsweetened side so that it doesn’t overpower my cupcakes. I added 1.5 cups and I was very happy with the outcome. But, it’s really to your taste. Once the frosting is ready, put it in a piping bag and pipe it onto your cupcakes however you want like so:

And then to finish them off I placed on my chocolate mustaches to add an air of sophistication to my cupcakes 🙂

Everyone really liked them and they were just plain adorable to look at. Goodluck on your cupcake adventures!

BLACK AND “WHITE” VELVET CUPCAKES

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 1/2 cups cake flour (not self- rising), sifted
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable oil
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 2 teaspoons black gel-paste food color *
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons distilled white vinegar

  • * if you can’t find black gel food coloring, I hear you can mix red, yellow and blue food coloring to make black. I haven’t tried it out, but let me know!

    DIRECTIONS

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line standard muffin tins with paper liners [or pam :p]. Whisk together cake flour, cocoa, and salt.
  • With an electric mixer on medium-high speed, whisk together sugar and oil until combined. Add eggs, one at a time, beating until each is incorporated, scraping down sides of bowl as needed. Mix in food color and vanilla.
  • Reduce speed to low. Add flour mixture in three batches, alternating with two additions of buttermilk, and whisking well after each. Stir together the baking soda and vinegar in a small bowl (it will foam); add mixture to the batter, and mix on medium speed 10 seconds.
  • Divide batter evenly among lined cups, filling each three-quarters full. Bake, rotating tins halfway through, until a cake tester inserted in centers comes out clean, about 20 minutes. Transfer tins to wire racks to cool completely before removing cupcakes. Cupcakes can be stored overnight at room temperature, or frozen up to 2 months, in airtight containers.

  • CREAM CHEESE FROSTING

    INGREDIENTS

  • 8 ounces (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 12 ounces cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1 pound (4 cups) confectioners’ sugar, sifted [or to taste]
  • 3/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • DIRECTIONS

    Beat butter and cream cheese with a mixer on medium-high speed until fluffy, 2 to 3 minutes. Reduce speed to low. Add sugar, 1 cup at a time, and then vanilla; mix until smooth. Frosting can be refrigerated for up to 3 days; before using, bring to room temperature, and beat until smooth.

    TO ASSEMBLE

    Pipe on Cream Cheese frosting. Then add your chocolate mustaches to make them a touch more sophisticated. Then, EAT!

     

    Hope you enjoy,

     

    Mel

    Leave a Reply

    