Honey Banana Cupcakes with Greek Yogurt Frosting

 

So we had some pretty ripe bananas and my mom wanted me to make sure they didn’t go to waste. Bingo: Cupcakes.

I’ve been on a big honey kick lately and I thought, what better flavor to go along with bananas but honey, right? So I went to my go-to banana cupcake recipe from my Martha Stewart but I substituted honey for all of the sugar. Substituting honey is actually a healthier choice since honey is metabolized slower than cane sugar you don’t get a crazy sugar high and low. Honey is overall much more superior to sugar because it has more vitamins and minerals and it’s actually sweeter! Honey is pretty easy to substitute. Up to one cup of sugar can be substituted equally with honey. After one cup you should then use 2/3-3/4 c honey for every cup of sugar. This is because honey is sweeter than sugar.

So I made the delicious cupcakes with honey as their sweetner.

Another reason why honey is superior in baking is that it keeps your baked goods very moist.

So, since I was using a healthier sweetner, I thought, why not use a healthier frosting? Just this once πŸ™‚ Usually my morning consists of an egg and some delicious greek yogurt with honey and granola and cut up bananas. I like this brand:

Fage also has a 2% yogurt which is delicious. It looks like there is peanut butter in the container because I mixed some peanut butter with my greek yogurt to give the frosting a hint of nuttiness. You can opt not to do this and just go for the straight yogurt taste.

For my frosting, I mixed 1 tbsp of peanut butter, 1 500g container of Fage yogurt, and powdered sugar to taste. You could also opt to sweeten with honey, but the more honey you put in the yogurt, the more liquid-y it becomes and I didn’t want to have runny frosting.

Than I piped on the frosting in swirls:

To finish it, I took a banana slice and topped each cupcake. Then, I sprinkled some cinnamon for some yummy spice!

Hope you guys enjoy!

 

BANANA CUPCAKES

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled)
  • 3/4 cup honey
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 1/2 cups mashed bananas (about 4 ripe bananas), plus 1 whole banana, for garnish (optional)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • DIRECTIONS

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a standard 12-cup muffin pan with paper liners. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  • Make a well in center of flour mixture. In well, mix together butter, mashed bananas, eggs, and vanilla. Stir to incorporate flour mixture (do not overmix). Dividing evenly, spoon batter into muffin cups.
  • Bake until a toothpick inserted in center of a cupcake comes out clean, 25 to 30 minutes. Remove cupcakes from pan; cool completely on a wire rack. Spread tops with Greek Yogurt Frosting
  • Just before serving, peel and slice banana into rounds, and place one on each cupcake, and sprinkle with cinnamon, if desired.
  •  

    GREEK YOGURT FROSTING

    INGREDIENTS

    • 1 500 g container Fage yogurt [0 or 2%]
    • powdered sugar
    • 1 tbsp creamy peanut butter [optional]

    DIRECTIONS

    • If you want a nutty taste to the frosting, add peanut butter to yogurt.
    • Sweeten with powdered sugar to taste

     

    These are very delicious and very easy to make cupcakes.

    Happy Baking!

    Always,

    me πŸ™‚

    5 responses to “Honey Banana Cupcakes with Greek Yogurt Frosting

    1. Great job WOW!! this is fantastic.
      Thank you for great step by step instructions. It really made my job so simple since it works perfectly.
      Keep up the good job,
      Best
      Amo

    2. I love banana cupcakes. Maybe its time to make my own of these cupcakes. I think adding some chocolate syrup will make it yummier. Thanks for the easy and simple recipe of yours.

    3. Janell Allred

      I want to make it with Nutella! YUM

    Leave a Reply

    