Dark Chocolate Ganache filled Chocolate Cupcakes with Raspberry buttercream

Alright, so first off. Where have I been?!? It’s been a while since I’ve updated [don’t fret, I’ve definitely still been baking] but, I’ve actually been really busy this past month. So a quick update on me: I just moved to Westwood with my best friend Sheva. We’re in the process of unpacking but were really excited because our apartment is very very very cute! And I just got back from a trip to Berkeley. But, now I’m back and ready to update. I’ve also got a few tricks up my sleeve for Thanksgiving so stay tuned!

Mmmm Mmmm mmmmm. I really love the taste of dark chocolate and raspberry together. I took one of my favorite chocolate cupcake recipes from my Martha Stewart book and then filled it with delicious dark chocolate ganache.

So, as always, I pre-heated to 350, separated my dry ingredients with my wet. With this recipe you beat the wet ingredients into the mixed dry ingredients until the batter is smooth and yummy. Bake for 20 minutes and voila!

These cupcakes, especially, give off a beautiful chocolate aroma as they come out of the oven. While I let them cool, I made my ganache. Ganache is really delicious and really, really easy to make. The ganache recipe I used makes 2 cups ganache. Now, I like to really fill my cupcakes so I added an extra half to my entire recipe to get 3 cups out of it and that seemed perfect for me. You take your very  high quality chocolate [it’s not about being uppity, the better the chocolate, the better the consistency. Chocolate is tempered and higher grade chocolate will not lose it’s consistency. I used 12 oz] and place it in a heat proof bowl. Then bring your heavy cream and corn syrup to a strong simmer. Then pour the cream mixture on top of the chocolate. Let it stand for 1 minute [so the chocolate can begin to melt] and then mix it till it becomes glossy and smooth. I like to use a folding motion when I mix my chocolate and cream. If it’s not mixing as perfectly as you’d like, place it over a double broiler and mix as it reheats. Just be patient with it. Once it’s beautiful smooth and glossy, let it cool and thicken [if you’d like to quicken the process, place it in the fridge and mix it every 5-10 minutes till it is the desired consistency].

So, once it’s time to let your Ganache cool and thicken, your cupcakes should have sufficiently cooled down. Time to core! I like to core cones out of the cupcakes like so:

Then I cut off the tips to leave nice disk-like lids to the holes I have created.

What do you do with the tips you cut off? Eat them of course! So core all your cupcakes:

Then, when you ganache is ready, fill them!

Mmmmm Yummy ganache….mmmmmm. Now Top them!

I like to top them because it’s easier for the buttercream to stick to the cake rather than the gooey ganache inside. Speaking of buttercream, let’s get to it!

Grab your raspberries:

Raspberries are among my favorite berries and they are very good for you. They are rich in antioxidants and vitamin B-12! Plus, they’re pretty cute. Okay so the Raspberry Swiss Meringue Buttercream is made almost in the same way as your normal vanilla swiss meringue buttercream except that you add 1.5 c of pureed raspberries. 🙂 Now, if you’d like, you can strain the puree so you don’t get any raspberry seeds, but I thought that’s what gave it it’s beautiful raspberry feeling. Anyway, here’s a not so great pic of the butterceam:

Then I placed it in a piping bag and piped the buttercream onto my yummy cupcakes. I also had some left over ganache so I drizzled that over the buttercream:

Then I plopped on a raspberry to top it off 🙂

I took these to my Mom’s friend’s birthday party and they were a hit! I hope you enjoy!

 

CHOCOLATE CUPCAKE RECIPE

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs
3/4 cup buttermilk
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
3/4 cup warm water

24 raspberries as garnish

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Line mini muffin tin with paper liners. Whisk together flour, cocoa, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. With mixer on low speed, add eggs, buttermilk, oil, extract, and the water; beat until smooth and combined.

Spoon the batter into liners about two-thirds full. Bake approximately 20 minutes, or until tester comes out clean. Transfer tins to wire racks and allow to cool for 10 minutes; turn cupcakes onto racks and let cool completely. Cupcakes can be stored overnight at room temperature, or frozen up to 1 month in air tight containers.

DARK CHOCOLATE GANACHE [orignal recipe makes 2 c, I added another half to everything, if you don’t like filling generously then go ahead and just use the original recipe]

Ingredients

  • 8 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped
  • 1 1/4 cups heavy cream
  • 1 tablespoon light corn syrup
  • Directions

    Place chocolate in a medium heatproof bowl. Bring cream and corn syrup to a simmer in a small saucepan over medium heat. Pour over chocolate; let stand for 1 minute. Stir until shiny and smooth. Let cool slightly.

    RASPBERRY SWISS MERINGUE BUTTERCREAM

    Ingredients

    1-1/2 cups  fresh raspberries, pureed
    4 large egg whites
    1-1/4 cups sugar
    1-1/2 cups (3 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature

    Directions

    Puree raspberries in a food processor and set aside.

    Combine egg whites and sugar in a heatproof bowl set over a pan of simmering water. Whisk constantly by hand until the mixture is warm to the touch and sugar is dissolved (the mixture should feel smooth when rubbed between your fingers).

    Pour egg whites with sugar into a stand mixer fitted with whisk. Mix on medium-high speed until stiff peaks form about 10 minutes and the bowl is cool.

    Switch to medium-low speed and add butter a few tablespoons at a time. Mix well after each addition. After all the butter has been added scrape down the bowl and switch to paddle attachment.

    Continue beating on low speed until buttercream becomes smooth. Don’t worry if the buttercream starts to look curdled. Just keep beating until it comes together. Then add raspberry puree and beat until combined.

    TO ASSEMBLE

    1. Core cupcakes [keep tops as lids, cut off the points as shown in photos]
    2. Fill with ganache
    3. Top the cupcakes
    4. Pipe on Buttercream
    5. Drizzle with Ganache [if desired]
    6. Top with a raspberry [if desired]
    6 responses to “Dark Chocolate Ganache filled Chocolate Cupcakes with Raspberry buttercream

    1. I’ve been tasked with making some ‘chocolatey goodness’ for a football/dinner night. I’m going to make these! Thanks Melody for the lovely instructions 🙂

    2. yyyyuuuummmmm!!!!!!

    3. ok so…. me and my mom made these today. they were all good until we had to make the butter cream. it was a disaster!!! it would not become smooth or creamy. other than that it was all good. 🙂

    4. ok so…. me and my mom made these today. they were all good until we had to make the butter cream. it was a disaster!!! it would not become smooth or creamy. other than that it was all good. 🙂

      • Oh no! Okay, my advice: try to incorporate some of the raspberry compote before you paddle the buttercream and slowly add as it incorporates. I would say adding a little less compote would help too. It is difficult mixing the oily characteristic of the buttercream with the acidic characteristic of the raspberry. Also! If your kitchen is too warm it could mess with the chemistry of the buttercream. I hope that helps! Thanks for reading!

    Leave a Reply

    