A Trip Through Berkeley

Okay, so I know this isn’t a lot about baking, but I had to share my last trip to Northern California because I had so much fun!

So first off, I went to my favorite Cafe in Berkeley Crixa Cakes. In college, I came here often, ordered a slice of cake and read.

So I went there twice during my Berkeley trip. The first time I got this:

Flourless Chocolate Cake and a vanilla latte. Delicious!

One thing I love is their beautiful vitrine:

So then on a different day, I went to one of my other favorite places in Berkeley, with my friend Joe.

We went to Cheeseboard.

And we ate this:

Asiago cheese, truffle oil, caramelized onions and fresh parsley. Cheeseboard never fails to impress me.  Then I went to the Cheeseboard bakery and bought a double chocolate loaf.

We also walked around the flower market next door and I took a couple photos.

Later I decided that Joe had to finally make a visit to Crixa Cakes. I couldn’t stand a Cal grad not having been to the best cafe/bakery in town. So we headed over. We shared an amaretti cream cake and I got this amazing dark chocolate drink with steamed milk called an old fashioned romantic. 🙂

Needless to say, we enjoyed it.

Later on in the day, I found this place:

Oh, Berkeley, sometimes, I really miss you. Most of all though, I miss Berkeley because it is the current home of this man:

I love him so much. We celebrated our Valentine’s day by going to Burger Bar in San Francisco. It’s one of my favorite chef’s restaurants, Hubert Keller. The burgers were AMAZING, but even more so, the milk shakes were to die for. We got this one:

It’s coffee ice cream with caramel sauce and butterscotch chips. Mmmmmm. This is what it looked like around 2 minutes later:

It was a very beautiful week in a city that really had a lot to do with who I am. I miss Berkeley and the yummy treats and especially the handsome boy namedRobin who lives there. 🙂

Have a good day!

Mel

3 responses to “A Trip Through Berkeley

  1. Next time you come, in addition to the fabulous Crixa, you must also visit:
    Sweet Adeline Bakeshop
    3350 Adeline
    Berkeley
    and
    Buttercream in Albany

Leave a Reply

